wicked lovely 1

4-stars

Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely #1) – Melissa Marr

Synopsis:

Rule #3: Don’t stare at invisible faeries.
Aislinn has always seen faeries. Powerful and dangerous, they walk hidden in the mortal world. Aislinn fears their cruelty – especially if they learn of her Sight – and wishes she were as blind to their presence as other teens.

Rule #2: Don’t speak to invisible faeries.
Now faeries are stalking her. One of them, Keenan, who is equal parts terrifying and alluring, is trying to talk to her, asking questions Aislinn is afraid to answer.

Rule #1: Don’t ever attract their attention.
But it’s too late. Keenan is the Summer King, who has sought his queen for nine centuries. Without her, summer itself will perish. He is determined that Aislinn will become the Summer Queen at any cost — regardless of her plans or desires.

Suddenly none of the rules that have kept Aislinn safe are working anymore, and everything is on the line: her freedom; her best friend, Seth; her life; everything.

Faery intrigue, mortal love, and the clash of ancient rules and modern expectations swirl together in Melissa Marr’s stunning twenty-first-century faery tale.

Review:

I want to start off by saying…I love Melissa Marr.  I had previously read Graveminder and Carnival of Souls, that was how I was introduced to her.  I decided to purchase Wicked Lovely  because I love Melissa Marr’s style.  I am so glad I did.  This book was fantastic.  I read this in 1 day.  The pace is fantastic, the characters are colorful and the story is well developed with a lot of faery lore.   This is not your typical love story either which was refreshing.  I don’t want to give away anything but it was a very satisfying result.

There were some editing/grammatical errors but nothing that would detract from the book.  I wish I would have read this one sooner.  I am glad I went ahead and purchased the 2nd book although the first book could stand alone if need be.

I am very interested to see who decided to pick up the series as a movie.  Universal had it optioned but dropped it (very disappointing).  Vince Vaughn’s production company is the one attached to the project and they keep renewing the option so right now they are shopping studios.  They have the script, director, producers and someother’s whose names are not yet public (which I took to mean there are some actors involved now).  Fingers crossed it won’t be too much longer!

Recommended for teens and young adults…I believe there were 2 “f bombs” and some hints at sex.  Nothing overly done.

List of Books in Order:

Wicked Lovely

Ink Exchange

Fragile Eternity

Radiant Shadows

Darkest Mercy

Leave a Reply

