Dark kiss (Nightwatchers #1)

Posted: July 6, 2013 in 4 Stars, Nephilim, Paranormal, Supernatural Teen Romance
Tags: , , , , , ,

dark kiss 1

4-stars

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers #1) – Michelle Rowen

Synopsis:

Smart, über-careful, ordinary Samantha-that’s me. But I just couldn’t pass up a surprise kiss from my number-one unattainable crush. A kiss that did something to me…something strange. Now I feel hungry all the time, but not for food. It’s like part of me is missing-and I don’t know if I can get it back.

Then there’s Bishop. At first I thought he was just a street kid, but the secrets he’s keeping are as intense as his unearthly blue eyes. If he’s what I think he is, he may be the only one who can help me. But something terrifying is closing in, and the one chance Bishop and I have to stop it means losing everything I ever wanted and embracing the darkness inside me….

NIGHTWATCHERS

When angels and demons must work together, something beyond evil is rising…

Review:

The cover is what drew me to this book in the first place, it’s beautiful and dark.

This is a very easy read.  It is not overly complicated and it is very entertaining.  I read this one in one night.  It did take me a little bit to get into the story.  I would read a couple pages and put it down but once it got going I couldn’t stop.  It kind of reminded me of the show Charmed…not the witches part but the working with demons to get the “big/bad” and also they have an entity called “The Hollow”.

I only wish that the author could have made the “Bishop” character more charismatic.  I know he is supposed to be the romantic unattainable love interest but I just couldn’t feel it.  Even the kissing scenes didn’t really give me the sexual tension that I think should have been present.

One of the only reasons I prefer young adult paranormal books is because the adult paranormal fiction has so much more sexual content (not that I’m against a good romp, I just really like the tension that comes with young adult fiction)

I am hoping the story gets fleshed out in the next book because I think it could be really good if it gets done right.  This series has a lot of potential.

Recommended for teens/young adults…minimal language, no sex, some violence (not graphic)

Comments
  1. nanoukmeijer says:

    I just LOVE your website! It’s so full of books I haven’t read yet! I just love how you put down what you think and that’s just amazing! 🙂 Are you on Goodreads? I am! And I also have a website! I’d love it if you’d take a look! I like YA fantasy and sci-fi just like you! 🙂 Love xx

    • jjjernigan1 says:

      Thank you 🙂 I am on Goodreads (Jennifer Jernigan). I was supposed to have a Goodreads widget on the blog but it only shows up every now and then 😦
      Feel free to friend me that way I can see your info as well 🙂

      Jen

  2. […] Dark kiss (Nightwatchers #1) (jjjernigan1.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

