summoning 1

3 stars

The Summoning (Darkest Powers #1) – Kelley Armstrong

Synopsis:

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don’t even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost – and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won’t leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow got myself locked up in Lyle House, a “special home” for troubled teens. Yet the home isn’t what it seems. Don’t tell anyone, but I think there might be more to my housemates than meets the eye. The question is, whose side are they on? it’s up to me to figure out the dangerous secrets behind Lyle House…before its skeletons come back to haunt me.

Review:

Okay, let me start off saying that once I finished this book I REALLY want to continue the series.  The only reason I have given it 3 stars is because it took more than 3/4 of the book to get me there.  It has ALOT of set-up to the story.

This book is kind of a cross between The Ghost Whisperer and Charmed.  It’s a great idea it just takes a little bit to get it going.  It almost felt like the author got trapped in an idea and didn’t know how to write her way out.

The main character “Chloe” can be a bit whiny and acts like a giant scaredy-cat and it can get a bit annoying but I still like her.  I know she is only 15 and I could only imagine being faced with the whole “talk to ghosts” thing that young (If it were a real thing LOL).

I only wish I had gone ahead and gotten the 2nd book in the series because HOLY CLIFFHANGER Jacob Marley!

It took me a day and half to read, which, for me was a long time.  Once the story took off, the pace was fantastic and the story really sucked me in.  Now I have to get the next!

I think that it was an enjoyable read and I would recommend if you are looking for something entertaining.

I would recommend for teens: very little language and no sex.  “Chloe” does get freaked out by reanimated dead and it is described but not often (I am easily scared and I didn’t get a major creep factor).

List of Books in Order:

The Summoning

Divided (#1.5  42 page Novella…the story filled in exactly the portion from where Derek left Chloe to when he found her again)

The Awakening

Disenchanted (#2.5  33 page Novella…The Story of Tori & Simon after Chloe gets off the bus)

The Reckoning

Belonging (#3.5  78 page Novella..takes place after Reckoning in Derek’s POV)

Comments
  1. […] The Summoning (Darkest Powers #1) (jjjernigan1.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

