Random Post

Posted: May 15, 2013 in Random Posts

Hi,

This is just a random post.  It’s not a review or book suggestion.

I started this to catalog books that I have read and enjoyed (or not).  Seeing as I have read 72 books in the past 3 months, this seemed the easiest way to keep track.  I also wanted to pass on my passion for great stories.

I am also doing this trying to show my 6 year old daughter that reading is beyond fantastic.  She is in kindergarten (which will soon be ending) and has done very well with learning to read.  She (we shall call her, from this day forth, “Chicken Nugget”) is now reading at a 2nd grade level.

I found Chicken Nugget the other day reading my Nook and I asked her what she was reading and her answer:  “I think it’s called Huckberry Finn.”  I said, “HuckLEberry Finn?”  She said “yeah but there are no pictures and I read like 20 pages.” I said, “First off, there are no pictures, I’m sorry.  Second, that’s probably too hard for you and third, HOLY CRAP…20 pages?”

I read to her EVERY night and have done so since she was 2 years old.  I am telling you right now, read to your kids EVERY night.  It doesn’t matter if you read them something simple like a short ABC book or if you choose to read Mr. Poppers Penguins…believe me it helps them to realize the importance of reading and the adventures they can have doing it.

I believe as of right now she has brought home and read at least 250 books from school…either from her class “Book It” program or from the school library.  I read the library book to her and she reads me her “Book It” book.

I was never a reader in school and regret that to this day..I could have read a crap ton of great stories by now but I always thought it was too much work.

When the first Lord of the Rings movie came out I decided to read the Hobbit and follow through with all the Lord of the Rings, which I have since read about 5 times.  That was around 2001.  I hadn’t read anything since my senior year in high school (1997).  Ever since then I had slowly gotten into reading but this last year and a half I have read over 100 books.  I don’t think I could live without reading.  Even when I was working and had a commute of 45 minutes I always had an audio book.

My point is, my daughter loves reading, I love reading…I want you to love reading.  Don’t get discouraged or say you don’t have time.  You will miss out on a lot of great stories just by making excuses.

read

Comments
  1. Susan Hardin says:

    Nana is looking down and smiling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

